Candies for a Gluten-Free Halloween

Monday, October 26, 2009

Gluten-free candy lists can be found all over the Web. But these are best used only as starting points, because manufacturers often change their ingredients and their processing methods. Always double-check with the company directly by calling their customer service number. You can find the manufacturer’s customer service number on the product label, or by searching on the Web. (By the way, companies will often send you coupons for free products when you call their consumer service lines with questions!)

Here are some candy manufacturers that publish lists of their gluten-free candy, as of October 2009.
(The manufacturers do not always specify whether these products are made on dedicated equipment.)

Nestle USA Products

The following products are gluten-free, although Nestle cautions that "due to formula changes and new product introductions, consumers should always read the ingredient statement on the wrapper for the most current information."

Baby Ruth®, Nips® (Regular and Sugar Free), Bit-O-Honey®, Treasures® (including Treasures Bars), Butterfinger® (but NOT Butterfinger Crisp and NOT Butterfinger Stixx), Spree®, Oh Henry!®, Raisinets®, Sno-Caps®, Goobers®, Wonka® Bottlecaps®, Wonka Pixy Stix®, Wonka Gobstoppers® (Chewy and Original), Wonka Runts® (Chewy and Original), Wonka Laffy Taffy® (Laffy Taffy Rope and Fruitarts Chews), Wonka Shockers®, Wonka Lik-M-Aid® Fun Dip™, Wonka Sweetarts®, Wonka Mix-Ups®, Wonka Nerds® (Nerds Rope and Nerds Gumballs).


The Wrigley FAQ page lists the following U.S. Wrigley products that are free of any wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten:

Wrigley's Spearmint® gum, Freedent® gum, Doublemint® gum, Extra® gum, Big Red® gum, Eclipse® gum, Juicy Fruit® gum, Winterfresh® gum, Orbit® gum, Orbit® White gum, Hubba Bubba® gum, Altoids® Sours, Altoids® Mints, Altoids® Gum, Lifesavers® and Cremesavers®.

Jelly Belly

The Jelly Belly website FAQ page states, "Jelly Belly jelly beans and Jelly Belly Confections Pectin, Mellocreme and Gelatin candies are gluten-free and considered safe for the celiac-sprue patient to consume."

Just Born Candy Company

Just Born's FAQ page says the following products do not contain gluten:

MIKE AND IKE® Brand Candies, HOT TAMALES® Brand Candies, PEEPS® Marshmallow Candies, PEANUT CHEW® Brand candies, TEENEE BEANEE® Jelly Beans and JUST BORN® Jelly Beans. (This information pertains to all Just Born candies in their original packaging.)


Necco’s FAQ page says the following products do not contain gluten:

Necco Wafers, Mary Janes, Mary Jane Peanut Butter Kisses, Sweethearts Conversation Hearts (Valentines only), Canada Mint & Wintergreen Lozenges, Haviland Thin Mints and Candy Stix, Clark Bars, Skybars, Haviland Peppermint & Wintergreen Patties, Necco Candy Eggs (Easter), Talking Pumpkins (Halloween), Squirrel Nut Caramels and Squirrel Nut Zippers, Banana Split and Mint Julep Chews, and ULTRAMINTS.

Fannie May Chocolates

According to a list on the Fannie May website, the following items are gluten-free: all candy bars, English Toffee, all solid chocolate novelties, Hostess Mints, Apricot Bon Bons, Apricot Cream, Assorted Nuts, Cashews, Chocolate & Pastel Meltaways, Chocolate Toffee, Chocolate Wafers, Citrus Peel, Dark Filbert Clusters, Irish Toffee, Ivory & Chocolate Bark, Milk & Dark Almond Clusters, Milk & Dark Walnut Clusters, Milk Peanut Butter Crunch Bar, Pastel Toffee, Pastel Wafers, Peanut Clusters.

Let's Do Organic... Gummy Bears

Let's Do Organic...Gummy Bears are available in Whole Foods stores and from various vendors online. These candies are gluten-free and vegan.

See's Candies

See's Candies has a link on the bottom of every page of its website to allergen information. Because the vast majority of the company's candies do not contain gluten, they felt it would be easier to list only the candies that do include gluten or are made in a facility that produces products that may contain gluten. All of their other candies are gluten free. (Many of their products are also free of eggs, nuts, dairy and/or soy.) See's Candies are available in stores and online.

Diabetic Direct

Diabetic Direct sells gluten-free candy (and other products) that can meet the dietary restrictions of people with diabetes.

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails