Friday, October 30, 2009

Pinnacle Foods Group LLC is recalling “ARMOUR Chili with Beans, Original” due to undeclared wheat

The product was distributed to retail stores in Arkansas, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Virginia, and West Virginia।

The 15-oz cans come in a case of six with a plastic over-wrap that incorrectly states the product is "Gluten Free," while the product actually contains wheat. The label bears an “EST. 2AD” number inside the USDA mark of inspection with dates ranging from August 26, 2009 to October 28, 2009.

Consumers with questions may call (800) 253-5882.

Thanksgiving meal

Thursday, October 29, 2009

Now that the holiday season is coming up quickly, it's time to start planning your parties and dinner menus.

I know from experience how overwhelming it can be to think of preparing a meal that is safe for those who have gluten intolerance as well as delicious for the rest of your guests।

I have great news for you: "the traditional Thanksgiving meal" is easily converted to a gluten-free meal!

I know that my family is always concerned about what they prepare, because they're not sure what my children can or can't eat - so if you know you're going to have a guest who can't eat gluten, this should make it easy for you:

Turkey - A gluten-free holiday dinner starts with a gluten-free turkey Believe it or not some brands of turkey do contain additives that are not gluten-free—so, like everything else, read the ingredients

Stuffing - There are options, although none of them are quite as easy as Stove Top. Keep in mind that you can use a gluten-free loaf of bread to make breadcrumbs, and once you've done that than you're free to use most recipes you like. If you don't already have a favorite look here Gluten free stuffing recipes

Sweet Potatoes - Gluten-Free

Green Beans - Gluten-Free

Rolls - There are several options out there for baking breads from scratch using gluten-free ingredients. You can also buy pre made Rolls/bread

Dessert - No Thanksgiving is complete without Pumpkin Pie - so consider making a pumpkin pie without the crust. Some will say the filling is the best part, and of course the whip cream goes on top...so really who needs crust? If you're stuck on the crust, then click here for an easy gluten-free pie crust recipe.

Happy Holidays! And remember all of the reasons you have to be thankful।

Gluten-Free Microwave Brownies

"Quick" and "easy"


1/2 cup margarine
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1 cup sugar
3/4 cup GF baking mix
2 eggs
1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)
1 teaspoon GF vanilla
1/2 cup GF cocoa


Microwave margarine (in a large glass bowl) on HIGH power for 45 seconds to melt. Add eggs, sugar and vanilla. Beat until creamy. Mix in dry ingredients just until blended.

Spread evenly into 8-inch square baking dish. Microwave on MEDIUM for 8 to 10 minutes until the top appears dry and springs back when lightly touched. Turn dish a half turn about halfway through cooking. Cool and cut into bars.

Play dough

Wednesday, October 28, 2009

A childhood favorite pastime is creating with play dough The typical store brands are not gluten free and can be hazardous to someone with gluten intolerance There are, however, several specialty brands that are gluten free

Colorations - Free from latex, dairy, casein, egg, gluten, peanuts and tree nuts, this dough comes in 8 different colors.
Blue Dominoes - This dough is made of organic, food grade, all natural ingredients, is free of lead, heavy metals, bromine, and bisphenol-A; and does NOT contain artificial colors, dyes, gluten or wheat.
Aroma Dough - This dough is made with 100% organic, gluten free, wheat free rice flour, salt, water, moisturizing oils and natural aromas (no perfumes). It does NOT contain nuts, nut oils, perfumes, soy, dairy products or wheat. They offer 8 different colors/aromas, a nice plastic rolling pin and even a nice mat to prevent table damage.
Mama K's Play Clay - Mama K's Play Clay is a 100% natural, biodegradable dough made with only ORGANIC essential oils. Available scents are chamomile (to relax), lavender (to soothe), bergamot (for tension), geranium (to balance), lemongrass (to inspire) and sweet orange (to uplift). Even better, this dough is made in a dedicated gluten free facility.
Eco-Dough - This non-toxic, naturally gluten free, soy free and dairy free dough comes in a tube containing 6 3-ounce containers (one each of pink, orange, white, brown, blue, green and yellow).

If you would prefer to make your own, here are a some recipes:
Celiac Sprue Association - This recipe seems to be the most popular as it is posted on many sites.
Autism Spot - There are two recipes on this page - one to be made on the stove and one that can be made in the food processor.
Lucy from "I can see my house from here" Lucy developed her own recipe using corn and bean flours in addition to rice flour.
Stephanie from "A Year of Slow Cooking" Stephanie has a recipe to make play dough in the crockpot.

For something a bit different, you could even make edible play dough!

Easy Chocolate Play Clay

Always read labels! Product ingredients are subject to change over time

One 16 oz. Container- Gluten free chocolate frosting READ labels A few are made with "wheat flour"

1 cup creamy peanut butter

1 1/2 cups confectioner's sugar

Combine all ingredients and you are ready to play!

Basic play clay makes a great party favor too! Put a portion of clay in a plastic sealable bag along with a label with the party guest's name, decorated with markers or stickers. Add a colorful cookie cutter or cut a 1/2 inch dowel into 4 inch lengths to serve as a little dough roller.

Our Five Favorite Gluten Free Substitutes

Tuesday, October 27, 2009

We make most of our meals using naturally gluten free ingredients, but there are several gluten free products in our kitchen we just can't go without

Here are five of our favorites (in no particular order)

Grandmas gone gluten Free, Pre made Pizza crust www.grandmasgoneglutenfree.com
Glutino Gluten-Free Pretzel Twists
Tinkyada Pasta Joy
Pamela's Products Wheat-Free & Gluten-Free Bread Mix
Enjoy Life Snacks cookies/bars

What are your favorites? Leave a comment and let us know

Gluten-Free Turkey Products

A fresh or frozen turkey is not something we typically suspect as a source of gluten. Unfortunately, basting solutions injected in turkey during processing may contain gluten. Here are several popular brands of whole fresh or frozen turkey that, according to the manufacturers, are gluten-free. Always read labels carefully! If you aren't sure about a product, contact the manufacturer before buying. Don't buy pre-stuffed turkey or use the gravy packets that accompany many turkey products- they contain gluten!

Empire Kosher® Turkey Products

Empire Kosher® Poultry, Inc., located in Pennsylvania is, according to the company, "the largest kosher poultry producer in the world." The company controls all aspects of poultry production from breeder farms to processing facilities."

Gluten Free Empire Kosher® Turkey Products

Empire Whole Frozen Turkey
Empire Frozen Turkey Breast

Read more about Empire Kosher Gluten Free Products

Jennie-O® Brand

Jennie-O®, Hormel brand Gluten Free Turkey Products include:

Jennie-O® Prime Young Turkey: fresh or frozen (the gravy packet does contain gluten)
Jennie-O Turkey Store® Oven Ready Turkey Breast (the gravy packet does contain gluten)
Jennie-O® Frozen Turkey Breast (the gravy packet does contain gluten)

Full Listing of Hormel Gluten Free Products

Don't forget to toss the gravy packet which contains gluten!

Perdue® Brand

According to Perdue®, "All fresh, minimally processed chicken and turkey whole bird and parts, (legs, breasts, wings and giblets) are gluten free."

Perdue Gluten Free List

Pilgrim's Pride®

According to Pilgrim's Pride® , "All of our turkey products are gluten free."

Pilgrim's Pride® Turkey Products

Shelton's® Gluten Free Turkey Products

Shelton's®, located in California, "raises chickens, turkeys and ducks in free range conditions, without the use of antibiotics or artificial growth stimulants." They also raise organic gluten free turkey.

"We use no preservatives, flavor enhancers, modified starches, irradiated spices, animal protein or any artificial ingredients. Our ingredients lists read like home recipes instead of chemistry textbooks."

Find a store near you

More gluten free products from Shelton's®

What About Butterball® Turkey?

Butterball®, a ConAgra brand, does not label whole fresh or whole frozen turkey products as gluten free. Product information is available at Butterball® website:

"Do Butterball® products contain any allergens like gluten?"
"Butterball product labels let consumers know whether any of the top eight allergens may be present in the product. For example, a label may read “contains wheat and dairy.” Specifically, gluten is not present naturally in turkey. It may be present in our gravy packets, additional rubs or flavors, and in our stuffed products."

Butterball® Frozen Whole Turkey
Butterball® Fresh Whole Turkey
Gluten is not a "top 8 allergen". Verify with Butterball® that the product you are considering purchasing is gluten free!

What's A Heritage Turkey?

Heritage turkeys are prized by chefs for their flavor and "superior biological diversity" over factory-raised turkey. Heritage turkeys cost substantially more than factory-raised turkey. If you decide to try one, read the label carefully to verify that it is gluten-free.

Candies for a Gluten-Free Halloween

Monday, October 26, 2009

Gluten-free candy lists can be found all over the Web. But these are best used only as starting points, because manufacturers often change their ingredients and their processing methods. Always double-check with the company directly by calling their customer service number. You can find the manufacturer’s customer service number on the product label, or by searching on the Web. (By the way, companies will often send you coupons for free products when you call their consumer service lines with questions!)

Here are some candy manufacturers that publish lists of their gluten-free candy, as of October 2009.
(The manufacturers do not always specify whether these products are made on dedicated equipment.)

Nestle USA Products

The following products are gluten-free, although Nestle cautions that "due to formula changes and new product introductions, consumers should always read the ingredient statement on the wrapper for the most current information."

Baby Ruth®, Nips® (Regular and Sugar Free), Bit-O-Honey®, Treasures® (including Treasures Bars), Butterfinger® (but NOT Butterfinger Crisp and NOT Butterfinger Stixx), Spree®, Oh Henry!®, Raisinets®, Sno-Caps®, Goobers®, Wonka® Bottlecaps®, Wonka Pixy Stix®, Wonka Gobstoppers® (Chewy and Original), Wonka Runts® (Chewy and Original), Wonka Laffy Taffy® (Laffy Taffy Rope and Fruitarts Chews), Wonka Shockers®, Wonka Lik-M-Aid® Fun Dip™, Wonka Sweetarts®, Wonka Mix-Ups®, Wonka Nerds® (Nerds Rope and Nerds Gumballs).


The Wrigley FAQ page lists the following U.S. Wrigley products that are free of any wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten:

Wrigley's Spearmint® gum, Freedent® gum, Doublemint® gum, Extra® gum, Big Red® gum, Eclipse® gum, Juicy Fruit® gum, Winterfresh® gum, Orbit® gum, Orbit® White gum, Hubba Bubba® gum, Altoids® Sours, Altoids® Mints, Altoids® Gum, Lifesavers® and Cremesavers®.

Jelly Belly

The Jelly Belly website FAQ page states, "Jelly Belly jelly beans and Jelly Belly Confections Pectin, Mellocreme and Gelatin candies are gluten-free and considered safe for the celiac-sprue patient to consume."

Just Born Candy Company

Just Born's FAQ page says the following products do not contain gluten:

MIKE AND IKE® Brand Candies, HOT TAMALES® Brand Candies, PEEPS® Marshmallow Candies, PEANUT CHEW® Brand candies, TEENEE BEANEE® Jelly Beans and JUST BORN® Jelly Beans. (This information pertains to all Just Born candies in their original packaging.)


Necco’s FAQ page says the following products do not contain gluten:

Necco Wafers, Mary Janes, Mary Jane Peanut Butter Kisses, Sweethearts Conversation Hearts (Valentines only), Canada Mint & Wintergreen Lozenges, Haviland Thin Mints and Candy Stix, Clark Bars, Skybars, Haviland Peppermint & Wintergreen Patties, Necco Candy Eggs (Easter), Talking Pumpkins (Halloween), Squirrel Nut Caramels and Squirrel Nut Zippers, Banana Split and Mint Julep Chews, and ULTRAMINTS.

Fannie May Chocolates

According to a list on the Fannie May website, the following items are gluten-free: all candy bars, English Toffee, all solid chocolate novelties, Hostess Mints, Apricot Bon Bons, Apricot Cream, Assorted Nuts, Cashews, Chocolate & Pastel Meltaways, Chocolate Toffee, Chocolate Wafers, Citrus Peel, Dark Filbert Clusters, Irish Toffee, Ivory & Chocolate Bark, Milk & Dark Almond Clusters, Milk & Dark Walnut Clusters, Milk Peanut Butter Crunch Bar, Pastel Toffee, Pastel Wafers, Peanut Clusters.

Let's Do Organic... Gummy Bears

Let's Do Organic...Gummy Bears are available in Whole Foods stores and from various vendors online. These candies are gluten-free and vegan.

See's Candies

See's Candies has a link on the bottom of every page of its website to allergen information. Because the vast majority of the company's candies do not contain gluten, they felt it would be easier to list only the candies that do include gluten or are made in a facility that produces products that may contain gluten. All of their other candies are gluten free. (Many of their products are also free of eggs, nuts, dairy and/or soy.) See's Candies are available in stores and online.

Diabetic Direct

Diabetic Direct sells gluten-free candy (and other products) that can meet the dietary restrictions of people with diabetes.
Related Posts with Thumbnails